Sylvia A. Winters

If a cat is thrown a lemon, he builds a log cabin and spends the summer in Canada

Pterodactyl

with 4 comments

As I’m writing this, the very creature of which I am about to write is perched outside my window, staring at me with large, beady eyes that whisper to me through the silence of worlds. It is he who has haunted me these long and bitter months, and has allowed me no rest.

The pterodactyl, a beast thought to be long since extinct, follows me continuously, the way a sex offender stalks vulnerable young women.

It would lick its lips if it possessed such things; instead it opens and closes its beak with a terrific clacking noise that sounds to me like the drum beat preceding a man’s death- my death. It tells me that I am not long for this world, and so I must hasten my hand.

This creature has not eaten in decades, and I, chosen soul to be damned, will break its fast.

O’ sae me, Lord! I pray- no. It is hopeless. Prayer is the last hope of the truly desperate, and although I count myself so, I will not shame myself by clinging to my father’s trouser-leg. This beast can not be of God, and so God can have no power over it.

It beats its gargantuan wings and shatters glass.

It’s in! It’s in! God have mercy upon me! I can speak no more …

Written by Sylvia A. Winters

August 13, 2010 at 5:58 pm

4 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. I hope you saved yourself. Wonderful skill, being able to publish a blog as you fight for your life. I too am paranoid of prehistoric creatures. At least we do not need to fear the brontosaurus any longer (since the experts now say it never existed).

    Or that could just be a sly trick on the part of the bronto…

    D.

    somethingnewplease

    August 13, 2010 at 7:20 pm

    • This is Bob. I communicate directly with Xarixian from beyond the veil and have been doing so for approximately 3 hours now.

      Xarixian wishes to tell you that the brontosaurus is most definately real. They are in league with the pterodactyls, but are smarter by far.

      xarixian

      August 14, 2010 at 2:06 am

  2. I hope everything’s ok, Xarixian. I know how troubling a peering pterodactyl can be.

    Don’t you think Matt Lauer kind of looks like a pterodactyl? I think it’s the eyes. They make him look like he’s uneasy and constantly on the lookout for larger predators. Plus his nose is long, and pointy, and his jaw hinges at a 110 degree angle! Did you know that? He is truly a beautiful specimen.

    theweeklyargus

    August 13, 2010 at 10:46 pm

    • He does look a little sinister. I think he must have a pterodactyl as an ancestor.

      xarixian

      August 14, 2010 at 2:07 am


Leave a Reply

